Andrea Züllig and Heiko Schätzle

Andrea Züllig and Heiko Schätzle

KMM Cultural Center

"As a cultural center dedicated to the historical relationship between sounds, people and machines, the KMM offers an inspiring environment for us as a contemporary sound art duo. We want to be inspired by the sounds and the precise technology of the exhibits."

More info

Inspired by the mechanical sophistication of the music machines, the contemporary sound art duo will work with the records in the museum. The polyphonic records function as resonating bodies in which they reproduce the surrounding sound fragments from the room and form their own composition. As a formally reduced sound sculpture, this installation will provide a counterpoint to the opulent and powerful fairground and concert organs that dominate the large organ hall and stood for pleasure and wealth in their day. When is listening to music productive? Are there productive or unproductive sounds? The audience is invited to engage with the subtle nature of this experimental sound installation and to accept the offer of unproductivity.

Angèle Challier Fontaine

Angèle Challier Fontaine

Museum Neuthal Textile and Industrial Culture

"My work often combines traditional weaving techniques with modern materials and technologies to subvert expectations and challenge assumptions about what constitutes 'feminine' art. My main focus is on exploring the intersection of feminism and textiles. Exhibiting works that are in dialog with a history rooted in the local economy gives my work a deeper meaning." (original quote in English)

More info

Angèle Challier Fontaine's works reflect on the economic and social conditions of traditionally read women's occupations in the textile industry and the resulting gender dynamics. In her work, she takes a more critical look at historical economic structures during industrialization and honors the unpaid and hidden value that women contributed through their work in domestic and industrial spaces. The installation is a compilation of traditional embroidery and sewing and incorporates traditional techniques as exhibited in the Textile Museum Neuthal.

Karen Moser

Karen Moser

Museum Wetzikon

"Museums were created with the idea of telling cultural history and providing access to the past through objects. This is not a neutral gesture, but is also linked to the construction of identity and the establishment of a hierarchical structure between the self and the other. I am particularly interested in how these narratives are created through staging and context and how they can be critically questioned. This also results in a kind of paradox between my enthusiasm for things and the need to take a critical stance towards them."

More info

To explore the idea of (in)productivity, the artist will consider the act of labor that an object performs in its specific exhibition context. The artist will work with the curators of all partner museums to select objects from each collection and give them some 'time off', so to speak. Each object will be exhibited in a different museum to break its conventional value in that specific context.

Leonie Brandner and Nina Guo

Leonie Brandner and Nina Guo

Knight's house Bubikon

"Nina and I have been exploring stories, wishes and fragments in our work together for a long time. We are delighted to be working in this context in the chapel of the Ritterhaus Bubikon, which tells an eventful story, from one faith to another. Nowadays, the place can no longer fulfill its function as a chapel for church services, which gives us the unique opportunity to fill this space with new, old and past stories."

More info

Leonie Brandner and Nina Guo devote themselves to the musical and performative representation of feelings associated with inactivity, excessive demands and overwhelm. How do we help ourselves to deal with these feelings? How do we move from perceived unproductivity back to productivity? How do we develop a healthy attitude towards our own productivity and can healing medicine help us with this? The two artists work along the overarching values and desires of the mandrake and create a comprehensive listening and viewing experience in the chapel of the Ritterhaus Bubikon.

Miriam Strauss

Miriam Strauss

Open Youth Work Wetzikon

"What are young people's expectations of leisure time and what aesthetics does adolescence conceal? In my artistic work, I explore kitsch, cuteness and gimmicks. As a counterpart to established art, I open up a pleasurable and participatory process with the young people, which first leads to abstraction and very close to the material. Depth and surface boil in the same sweet soup."

More info

Miriam sets up her temporary studio in the premises of the open youth work center in Wetzikon during the festival and invites young people to participate in the work as observers or collaborators. The work is process-oriented and asks, among other things, what advantages a joint creative process brings and what potential individual and collective creativity enables. Is there more to the process than can be outlined on paper, and does it fall short in certain school-oriented areas of life? As an art educator, Miriam contextualizes her method and experiences and shares them with the audience in the context of the art venue. The artist wants to inspire with her working methods and allow herself and the participants to follow their own creative urge.

Philipp Lehmann

Philipp Lehmann

Museum Neuthal Textile and Industrial Culture

"I have always been interested in the interface between man and machine. I see myself as a designer who wants to achieve appealing results through justifiable decisions. Within the framework of an installation and through the methodology of creative coding, I want to define guidelines for the machine, but grant it certain freedoms and free time within the framework of the festival. A discourse between precision and human interpretation."

More info

Philipp Lehmann's work focuses on the productive and creative potential of machines. He draws the museum visitors and portrays them in their own style. The pre-programmed nature of the machine defines the way in which the human image is interpreted and technically depicted. Philipp Lehmann is currently working on the graphic realization and testing the installation on various occasions. What role do we humans play in the production chain when the machine becomes creative? Is co-creation possible? We'll test it out with you.

Simone Brander

Simone Brander

Museum am Pfäffikersee

"A central theme of the Museum am Pfäffikersee is working from home. The precarious conditions and material hardship of historical reality are contrasted and at the same time combined with the longing of "leisure subjects" in late capitalism. The walk through the museum rooms evokes many parallels to YouTube tutorials, the topics of which are also represented in the museum's collection. I would like to explore these virtual and museum-like private spaces of working from home."

More info

This work deals with the amateur maker at a time when DIY (do-it-yourself) culture is a growing space for creativity and accessibility. The approximately three-minute video is a montage of YouTube found-footage material. A kind of l'art-pour-l'art dream world is created through experimental alienation, duplication, exaggeration and repetition.

Vreni Spieser

Vreni Spieser

Knight's house Bubikon

"Site-specific works have been part of my artistic practice for years. Looking at what is there and reacting to it is what interests me. In this case, I came with an existing project idea. So there is an overlap between the museum and my world of ideas. In terms of content and form. Friction arises, at best."

More info

"Lifestyle Bullshit" is a research project that focuses on the Western Union logo and has been running since 2015. Spieser plays with the company's brand identity and works on textiles and goods to imitate the brand colors (black and yellow). In the continuation of this project, the artist will make further connections between production flow, working hours and money in relation to the Ritterhaus in Bubikon. The work will include an installation presenting a kiosk with lifestyle bullshit products for sale to the public.

Andrea Züllig und Heiko Schätzle

Andrea Züllig und Heiko Schätzle

KMM Kulturzentrum

«Das KMM als Kulturzentrum, welches sich der historischen Beziehung von Klängen, Menschen und Maschinen widmet, bietet für uns als zeitgenössisches Sound Art Duo ein inspirierendes Umfeld. Wir wollen uns von den Klängen und der präzisen Technik der Ausstellungsobjekte begeistern lassen.»

Mehr Info

Inspiriert von der mechanischen Raffinesse der Musikautomaten, wird das zeitgenössisches Sound Art Duo mit den im Museum vorhandenen Schallplatten arbeiten. Die Polyphonplatten funktionieren als Resonanzkörper, in dem sie die umliegenden Klangbruchstücke aus dem Raum wiedergeben und zu einer eigenen Komposition formen. Als formal reduzierte Klangskulptur wird diese Installation einen Kontrapunkt zu den opulenten und mächtigen Jahrmarkts- und Konzertorgeln setzen, die den grossen Orgelsaal dominieren und zu ihrer Zeit für Genuss und Reichtum standen. Wann ist Musikhören produktiv? Gibt es produktive oder unproduktive Klänge? Das Publikum ist eingeladen, sich auf die subtile Art dieser experimentellen Klanginstallation einzulassen und das Angebot zur Unproduktivität anzunehmen.

Angèle Challier Fontaine

Angèle Challier Fontaine

Museum Neuthal Textil- und Industriekultur

«In meinen Arbeiten werden häufig traditionelle Webtechniken mit modernen Materialien und Technologien kombiniert, um Erwartungen zu unterlaufen und Annahmen darüber, was "weibliche" Kunst ausmacht, in Frage zu stellen. Mein Hauptaugenmerk liegt auf der Erforschung der Überschneidung von Feminismus und Textilien. Das Ausstellen von Werken, die im Dialog mit einer Geschichte stehen, die in der lokalen Wirtschaft verwurzelt ist, verleiht meiner Arbeit eine tiefere Bedeutung.» (Originalzitat in Englisch)

Mehr Info

Angèle Challier Fontaines Werke reflektieren die ökonomischen und sozialen Bedingungen von traditionell gelesenen Frauenberufen in der Textilindustrie und die daraus resultierenden Geschlechterdynamiken. In ihrer Arbeit setzt sie sich kritischer mit den historischen Wirtschaftsstrukturen während der Industrialisierung auseinander und honoriert den unbezahlten und verschwiegenen Wert, den die Frauen durch ihre Arbeit in den Heim- und Industrieräumen beigetragen haben. Die Installation ist eine Zusammenstellung aus traditionellen Stickereien und Näharbeiten und nimmt traditionelle Techniken, wie sie im Textilmuseum Neuthal ausgestellt sind, auf.

Karen Moser

Karen Moser

Museum Wetzikon

«Museen sind mit der Idee entstanden, Kulturgeschichte zu erzählen und durch Objekte einen Zugang zur Vergangenheit zu legen. Dies ist keine neutrale Geste, sondern auch mit Identitätskonstruktion und der Etablierung einer hierarchischen Struktur zwischen dem Eigenen und dem Anderen verbunden. Mich interessiert insbesondere, wie diese Erzählungen durch Inszenierung und Kontext entstehen und wie sie kritisch befragt werden können. Dabei ergibt sich auch eine Art Paradox zwischen meiner Begeisterung für die Dinge und dem Bedürfnis, eine kritische Haltung ihnen gegenüber einzunehmen.»

Mehr Info

Um die Idee der (Un-)Produktivität zu untersuchen, wird die Künstlerin den Akt der Arbeit betrachten, den ein Objekt in seinem spezifischen Ausstellungskontext leistet. Die Künstlerin wird mit den Kuratoren aller Partnermuseen zusammenarbeiten, um Objekte aus jeder Sammlung auszuwählen und ihnen sozusagen eine "Freizeit" zu gönnen. Jedes Objekt wird in einem anderen Museum ausgestellt, um seinen konventionellen Wert in diesem spezifischen Kontext zu brechen.

Leonie Brandner und Nina Guo

Leonie Brandner und Nina Guo

Ritterhaus Bubikon

«Nina und ich setzten uns in unserer gemeinsamen Arbeit seit langem mit Geschichten, Wünschen und Fragmenten auseinander. Wir freuen uns riesig, in diesem Rahmen in der Kapelle des Ritterhaus Bubikons zu arbeiten, das eine bewegte Geschichte, von einer Glaubensprägung zur anderen, erzählt. In der heutigen Zeit kann der Ort seine Funktion als Kapelle für Gottesdienste nicht mehr wahrhaben, was uns die einmalige Möglichkeit gibt, diesem Raum mit neuen, alten und vergangen Geschichten zu füllen.»

Mehr Info

Leonie Brandner und Nina Guo widmen sich der musikalischen und performativen Darstellung von Gefühlen, die mit der Untätigkeit, der Überforderung und der Überwältigung verbunden sind. Wie helfen wir uns selbst, mit diesen Gefühlen umzugehen? Wie kommen wir von der gefühlten Unproduktivität zurück in eine Produktivität? Wie entwickeln wir eine gesunde Einstellung zur eigenen Produktivität und kann die Heilmedizin uns dabei helfen? Die zwei Künstler:innen arbeiten sich entlang der übergeordneten Wert- und Wunschvorstellungen der Alraune und kreieren ein umfassendes Hör- und Seherlebnis in der Kapelle des Ritterhaus Bubikon.

Miriam Strauss

Miriam Strauss

Offene Jugendarbeit Wetzikon

«Was sind jugendliche Erwartungen an Freizeit und welche Ästhetiken verbirgt die Adoleszenz? In meiner künstlerischen Arbeit erforsche ich Kitsch, Niedlichkeit und Gimmik. Als Gegenstück zur etablierten Kunst eröffne ich einen lustvollen und partizipativen Prozess mit den Jugendlichen, der erst in die Abstraktion und ganz nah an das Material führt. Tiefe und Oberfläche kochen in derselben süssen Suppe.»

Mehr Info

Miriam richtet in den Räumlichkeiten der offenen Jugendarbeit Wetzikon während des Festivals ihr temporäres Atelier ein und lädt die Jugendlichen als Beobachter:innen oder Kollaborator:innen ein, an der Arbeit teilzunehmen. Die Arbeit ist prozessorientiert und stellt unter anderem die Frage, welche Vorzüge ein gemeinsamer Schaffensprozess hervorbringt und welches Potenzial die eigene und kollektive Kreativität ermöglicht. Birgt der Prozess mehr, als er auf dem Papier skizziert werden kann, und kommt er in gewissen schulisch orientierten Lebensbereichen zu kurz? Als Kunstvermittlerin kontextualisiert Miriam ihre Methode und Erfahrungen und teilt diese im Rahmen des Kunstlokals mit dem Publikum. Die Künstlerin will mit ihren Arbeitsmethoden inspirieren und sich selbst und den Teilnehmer:innen erlauben, dem eigenen kreativen Schaffensdrang zu folgen.

Philipp Lehmann

Philipp Lehmann

Museum Neuthal Textil- und Industriekultur

«Die Schnittstelle zwischen Mensch und Maschine beschäftigt mich seit jeher. Ich sehe mich als Gestalter, der durch begründbare Entscheidungen zu ansprechenden Resultaten kommen möchte. Im Rahmen einer Installation und durch die Methodik des Creative Coding möchte ich Richtlinien für die Maschine definieren, ihr aber im Rahmen des Festivals gewisse Freiheiten und Freizeit gewähren. Ein Diskurs zwischen Präzision und humaner Interpretation.»

Mehr Info

Die Arbeit von Philipp Lehmann geht auf das produktive und kreative Potenzial von Maschinen ein. Diese zeichnet die Museumsbesucher und porträtiert sie in ihrem eigenen Stil. Die vorprogrammierte Wesensart der Maschine definiert die Art und Weise, wie das menschliche Bild interpretiert und technisch abgebildet wird. Momentan tüftelt Philipp Lehmann an der zeichnerischen Umsetzung und erprobt die Installation an unterschiedlichen Anlässen. Welche Rolle übernehmen wir Menschen in der Produktionskette, wenn die Maschine kreativ wird? Ist eine Co-Kreation möglich? Wir testen es mit euch aus.

Simone Brander

Simone Brander

Museum am Pfäffikersee

«Ein zentrales Thema des Museums am Pfäffikersee ist die Heimarbeit. Die prekären Verhältnisse und die materielle Not der historischen Wirklichkeit kontrastiert und verbindet sich gleichzeitig mit der Sehnsucht der «Freizeitsubjekte» im Spätkapitalismus. Der Gang durch die musealen Räume weckt viele Parallelen zu YouTube Tutorials, deren Themenfelder auch in der Sammlung des Museums vertreten sind. Diese virtuellen und musealen Privaträume der Heimarbeit möchte ich erkunden.»

Mehr Info

Diese Arbeit beschäftigt sich mit dem Amateurmacher in einer Zeit, in der die DIY(Do-it-Yourself)-Kultur ein wachsender Freiraum für Kreativität und Zugänglichkeit ist. Das etwa dreiminütige Video ist eine Montage von YouTube-Found-Footage-Material. Durch experimentelle Verfremdung, Vervielfältigung, Übertreibung und Wiederholung wird eine Art l'art-pour-l'art-Traumwelt geschaffen.

Vreni Spieser

Vreni Spieser

Ritterhaus Bubikon

«Ortspezifische Arbeiten sind seit Jahren ein Teil meiner künstlerischen Praxis. Schauen, was da ist und darauf reagieren, das interessiert mich. In diesem Fall komme ich ja mit einer bestehenden Projektidee. Es gibt also eine Überlappung vom Museum mit meiner Ideen-welt. Inhaltlich und formal. Es entsteht Reibung, im besten Fall.»

Mehr Info

"Lifestyle Bullshit" ist ein Rechercheprojekt, das sich auf das Logo von Western Union konzentriert und seit 2015 läuft. Spieser spielt mit der Markenidentität des Unternehmens und bearbeitet Textilien und Waren, um die Markenfarben (schwarz und gelb) nachzuahmen. In der Fortsetzung dieses Projekts wird die Künstlerin in Bezug auf das Ritterhaus in Bubikon weitere Verbindungen zwischen Produktionsfluss, Arbeitsstunden und Geld herstellen. Die Arbeit wird eine Installation beinhalten, die einen Kiosk mit Lifestyle-Bullshit-Produkten für den Verkauf an die Öffentlichkeit präsentiert.